January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, EMGPhotography
Start and Grow a Blog

January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging

January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging” is a post written to share with you my experience with a single month of blogging about my passion…

Welcome back to my blogging friends, if you landed here this means you’re wondering if blogging is profitable for real or it is only a phantom idea overpopulating the web…

How many times did you hear that blogging is profitable and how many others did you were spoken about super ways to make money with a blog?

To be fully honest, making money with a blog wasn’t my first aim, opening it – my only aim was to connect with people loving pet photography and searching for a good professional their way!

This will be my Post of today: “January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging

In this article, I will try my best to be fully clear and disclose all my secrets to have fun blogging while making it a no time-wasting thing, but making it successful indeed.

First of all let me ask you the favor to read and understand my disclosure, as this post may contain affiliate links, so better you to fully understand that I am making a profit from them if you choose one of the deals on my pages.

If you’re thinking of starting a blog, let me suggest this tutorial to start from scratch and with absolutely no idea how to begin.

I’ll probably come back to this post later in time, to update it about the progress or eventual regresses, but for now let me introduce you the matter: I want to share with you the exit of my first-month blogging, also referring to the resources that helped me to gain readers and increase my audience.

This post will be an honest review of my first month of blogging, and I hope you will want to read it until the end, so to fully understand how I got such results.

January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, EMGPhotography
pin this image if you need a further reference to this article

January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging

This review is about the first month, January 2020, and will start from my principal social sharing platform: Pinterest.

In January I planned to concentrate only over this to test my blog’s potential being “hidden” in a world of pins. Reaching a public in a pot full of soups was my bet!

I told myself: “I’ll invest all my efforts for the first month over a single item; if it will work, then I can be sure it will also work elsewhere!“. And exactly this I did: take this as a suggestion for you too, if you want to start a blog from scratch.

I’m definitely a newbie in blogging, and I don’t want to be a reference for experts, for sure, but an encouraging one for those starting like me!

But now, let’s come to numbers:

My First Blog Income

December 2019 I decided to launch a pet photography blog to share my small passion and take notes about my progress in doing it, so a blog… and decided, following other bloggers suggestions, to go self-hosted instead of trying a free solution, just to be more visible and be credible.

Going self-hosted also allows you to have freedom in every aspect of building your perfect blog, both from the CMS side and the theme (visual appearance) of your cyber personality.

January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, EMGPhotography

Bluehost is the perfect solution for starting bloggers, due they offer plans as low as $3.95 per month and this is a super affordable price also if you decide to switch back to your idea.

January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, EMGPhotography

So, having chosen my hosting, I also decided to invest in a nice and professional theme for my WordPress blog, and I choose Ashe Theme:

January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, EMGPhotography

This Theme has a super-powerful presentation: you can customize it your personal taste. Originality is granted and you’ll never look someone else alike!

You can customize fonts, headers, logos, text, sidebars and every other thing you want into your blog!

Give Ashe a try! The basic version is totally FREE and you can decide to upgrade in every other moment.

So, let’s come to the main problem: receiving visitors from the web.

I sincerely recommend to set up a GoogleAds account linked to an AdSense one; all the power of the Google platform is granted by a totally free and easy-to-use WordPress plugin Sitekit. You simply install it and the magic is done: you will be able to take an overview of all features in a single place.

January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, EMGPhotography

This one is a screenshot of today’s traffic analysis and with it, you get features like:

– search funnel

– top search queries for your site

– most popular content analysis

– page speed

– earnings

And, coming to earnings (I’m in Euro-zone, so the language of the app is my native one):

January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, EMGPhotography
My first-month blogging income from AdSense

I know it’s not that much, but it’s motivational and already covered almost all my initial investment to start my blog from zero.

When you’re starting, AdSense is the best solution, due Google doesn’t ask for minimum traffic to place ads on your website.

I read over and over again that blog income from Adsense would take time to build and that is definitely true when just starting out. It is one of the harder ways to earn income, so don’t expect to get rich overnight!

January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, EMGPhotography

Ad income comes from traffic to your website. So in the early stages, you will still be growing and won’t have a lot of traffic. Thus, low income from ads. But don’t give up! As time goes on, you will get more traffic and start earning income from ads!

Affiliation Sites Helped Me

After having set my blog visual appearance, I started searching for Affiliations that could be relevant to my topic and niche (Photography and, more in detail Pet Photography), and I also recommend you join sites like:

These companies are like the middleman between you and brands/products. 

I chose to only add affiliate links that I could 100% recommend to others. By adding a couple products that I recommended, some of my readers ended up purchasing them.

This was a win-win! First, I was able to share my experience and give an honest review of something I was using. Second, a reader trusted my opinion and used my link to make a purchase. The reader was able to get the item for the standard price and I was able to earn a commission. How exciting!

So drum roll, please…

Pinterest Played a Key Role In It

I previously told you that I put as my beginning goal to dedicate all my concentration and efforts to a single Social. And this was Pinterest.

I challenged myself to commit a post a day or almost a post every two. So to fill my blog with quality content that could produce returning visitors, people being curious to read. I also improved my photos and made my website more user-friendly.

January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, EMGPhotography
January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, EMGPhotography
January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, EMGPhotography

Up here you can take a look at the life-span of my Pinterest Business Account, and how it has grown in only one month since it was created.

But I didn’t do it all without reading or studying. It’s fundamental to know you must have guidance throughout the whole process. And that’s why I bought my friend’s Ana EBook “How to Make Pinterest Possible” and trusted Tailwind App.

How To Make Pinterest Possible With TSA Book

First of all, I want to truly thank Ana from The She Approach for having written such a useful and blogger-must EBook!

January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, EMGPhotography

Use my code “TSA5OFF” and get $5 off

Feel free to use this code at checkout to have a $5 off the regular price

Following her suggestions (and believe me, they’re so many so I’m just starting improving), I reached the goal you’ve seen here up in ONLY 1 MONTH blogging.

I also recommend reading her free resource listed here to start:

January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, January 2020, an Honest Income Review from First Month Blogging, EMGPhotography

This course is totally free and will help you manage through the process.

It’s not easy like drinking a glass of water, but with a small amount of time and your passion you can think about living with a blog doing what you love and sharing your passion.

How to Master Tailwind

Another starting point to reach a goal in Pinterest is using Tailwind App. They have both free and paid plans, and until you’re a pro, I recommend starting with a free plan that allows you to Pin 100 pins per month, and a few on Tailwind Tribes.

Tailwind is the smartest way to manage your presence across the visual web (Pinterest & Instagram). Tailwind is an official partner of both Pinterest and Instagram and offers a complete suite of marketing tools including Smart Scheduling, Analytics & Monitoring, Content Discovery, Promotion, and more

Find out why over 500,000 bloggers, brands and agencies rely on Tailwind as their visual marketing co-pilot for winning on Pinterest and Instagram.

I’m offering you a FREE Tailwind month

This coupon is $15 value

Final Considerations

Owning a blog is surely a worthy passion, that can turn to be profitable if used in the proper way.

You can blog about your passions and goals, taking into account you will have to provide valuable and quality content to respond to your visitor’s questions and solve your readers’ problems.

Monetizing a blog is surely not a night-to-day job, and it requires study, will to learn and improve and efforts.

If you’re one of those willing to give yourself a chance, feel free to start and share with me your first-month blogging income in comments below.

Also, if you liked my content and want to stay tuned on news and updates, fill this form to signup to my Newsletter and I’ll send you a monthly update on new posts on this Blog. I promise I will be discreet and non-spammy!

Newsletter signup

Fill the form to subscribe!

Please wait

Thank you for sign up!

See you next month for a new blog income review!

Debs

Veterinary Surgeon, Labrador Breeder and passionate pet photographer. Blogger for hobby in spare time. I like everything regarding nature and its shapes.

6 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *